[2017 Goals] Part Two: Health

Get a physical
Let’s jump right in: get a physical. If you’re lucky enough to have health insurance you are entitled to year physical free of charge. No co-pay, no deductible. If you haven’t had a physical in years (or ever), get one. Although you may feel healthy, you may have questions or concerns about your general health and seeing your practitioner that knows you and your family history, is the best place to go for answers. If you’re using WebMD, just go get a physical. Hopefully it’ll help ease your mind and provide extra assurance. Plus, a focus on preventative care and interventions is the direction our health care system is headed in. Be trendy.

Now, on to taking care of your body…

Getting back on track after the holidays can be challenging. You’ve been eating warm, comfort food for two months and it’s only getting colder. All your social gatherings have increased your alcohol and sugar intake and decreased the amount of time spent at the gym and eating healthy. (Don’t worry so much about the gym. It’s really about your diet, the exercise is supposed to be fun.)

Join a Diet Bet 
If you’re looking for a way to get back on track or begin your weight loss journey, joining a diet bet is a great way to maintain motivation. The average diet bet is between $25 and $35 and those that meet their goal get a cut of the final pot. I’m currently involved in my first one and so far it’s helping me get back in to my old gym routine and eat healthier.

Take a class – don’t join a gym (yet!)
Sure, gyms and fitness centers have fantastic deals every new year, but they’re so crowded with new members that it’s difficult to navigate and keep up a routine. Plus, if working out is new to you, it may take a little while for you to figure out what gym will best meet your needs.

Taking a class is helpful in determining just that. If you love spinning, look for a gym or spin studio that offers classes that meet your schedule. If you enjoy it and it’s convenient you’re far more likely to stick with it. If you take a spin class and hate it, try something else. Maybe power lifting is your jam or swimming or both!

If you hate working out, don’t quit – you’re bound to find something you enjoy.

Don’t restrict yourself too much
At every Weight Watchers meeting before Thanksgiving the leader asks you to design your dinner plate. How much of your plate is dedicated to turkey? Stuffing? Green beans? While some are conservative, I always filled my plate (and sometimes asked for an extra sheet). Thanksgiving is the best meal I eat all year and what’s more important than what I eat that day is what I eat every day after that.

Same goes for vacations, birthdays, other holidays. If you want a piece of cake, eat it, because chances are you’re going to eat everything else to satiate that need and end up eating the piece of cake anyway. I speak from experience here, you guys.

Cook More
If there was one thing I never had to do again for the rest of my life I would choose cooking. Thanks to companies like Blue Apron and Purple Carrot, you can have fresh ingredients with creative, healthy recipes delivered weekly to your home. Graze will deliver a weekly box of healthy snacks to your home (Use codeDANAB842P for a free box). It’s worth the extra cost and takes away the need to navigate a super market.

Since I still struggle with following recipe directions and identifying a cucumber from a zucchini, I’m prone to make bowls of stuff. Just use brown rice, couscous or quinoa as a base, add some chia seeds, throw in some veggies and a protein. It’s easy, quick and helps you use up all that extra produce.

Sleeeeeeeeeeep
The greatest discovery of last year came when I realized going to bed at 9:30/10pm is the best thing I can do for myself. A restful night sleep gives me the focus and energy I need for the day ahead without needing a 5pm power nap.

Last night I had to force myself to stay away past 8pm so I could do all my meal prep. I forced myself to stay awake to be a better adult. What a world.

Need to get organized for 2017? I’m giving away a free, fancy planner. To enter, comment below with either your favorite work out song or a link to a favorite healthy recipe. Share! 

 

 

(Opinions are my own. No monetary compensation received for writing about the above companies. I endorse the above products because I have used them.) 

Leave a Reply

