[WWE Cookbook] Christian’s Eggplant Parmigiana

Eggplant Parm is one of my all time favorite meals. I’ll eat it on anything or in any vessel. I’ve put off making this recipe because I know that it was going to come nowhere close to my step mom’s amazing version. My Death Row meal would be a Qdoba Chicken Queso burrito, three lobsters, a pu pu platter from a Polynesian restaurant and my step mom’s eggplant parm. I’d also have a classic whoopie pie, Cherry Coke and a Dunkin Donuts Pumpkin Iced with skim milk and a Dunkin Donuts glazed donut and a Dunkin Donuts pumpkin muffin. Oh, and potato skins.

Christian_crop_north

Christian as World Heavyweight Champion (Courtesy of The Bleacher Report)

Christian wrestled for WWE for about fifty years. Now, he co-hosts the Edge and Christian Show on the WWE network where I have come to love him even more. I always felt that Christian was a hard worker overshadowed by Edge and buried by the WWE. When he won the World Heavyweight Championship in 2010, I was elated for him and, like everyone else, absolutely furious that he lost it the next night on Smackdown.

However, this facilitated a much needed heel turn where he kept demanding “One more match” and terrorizing Randy Orton (who has the visibility of John Cena without the charisma and ability to draw out sentences and keep talking about whatever it is that’s going on and whoever he is going to face that night and that he earned his right into that match because…zzzzzzzz).

During a house show I went to in Lowell, Massachusetts, Christian referred to the city has “a stinkin’ crap hole” which is now my favorite descriptor for anything (ex. “That Randy Orton promo was a stinkin’ crap hole.”)

IMG_7296This eggplant parm was not a stinkin’ crap hole. While it absolutely pales in comparison to my step mom’s masterpiece, it got the job done. Making this dish always seemed daunting to me, but it’s actually pretty simple.

I coated each piece of eggplant in an egg/flour mixture and let it sizzle in oil. The only issue, and as always, I blame this on user error, was that the eggplant pieces took longer to brown with some not coming close to being even. Some of the coating just crinkled right off.

 

The amount of cheese I used seemed like a great idea at the time but turned out to be a stinkin’ crap hole  way too much cheese. It was so heavy and nap inducing, but still delicious. Even the worst eggplant parm is still delicious.

This cookbook has a record of 15-5.

Leave a Reply

