I’m 30

A few months ago I went and saw a tarot card reader with a friend of mine. “It’s not going to be a great year, but it’s not going to be a terrible year either,” he told me.

“I’ll take it!”

As far as I’m concerned, the reading could’ve ended there. I think we get so fixated on having everything be the best that we get discouraged when one thing goes wrong or we end up missing out on small, key moments that make days great.

Yesterday I turned 30. And this project is over.

This past year was so much more than this project. I’m considering it the year that I truly got my shit together. It was part “I’m turning 30, let’s do some awesome crap” and part “Why am I okay with the way things are?” I felt stuck and I needed to do something about it. The point of this project wasn’t to be self-indulgent, it was to give myself new experiences and push myself to do things that I needed to do personally and professionally. It’s hard to remember that we are totally in control of the majority of things that happen in our lives. It’s not that I never took responsibility for negative things, I just felt helpless when they occurred.

Aside from one event on this list, I completed everything. I’m certified to teach ESL. I have my Social Work License. I lost 45lbs. I got a promotion at work. I built strong relationships with people that I care about. I paid down some debts all while maintaining a healthy savings account. I attended six WWE shows for a total of who knows? I had my first (and hopefully not last) paid theatre job for costume design. I regulated my cholesterol through diet and exercise. I met Sara del Rey! I adopted healthy habits across the board while trying not to shove it in peoples faces (okay, I failed at that. You guys know everything). I stood up for myself when I felt it was necessary and saw the results that I wanted from those interactions. I wrote for a website that focused on Women’s Wrestling. And I just kept going. Some of those things weren’t even part of the list, but I found that the happier I was, the more I was able to accomplish without even thinking about it.

To everyone that participated and read this project, offered their support, checked in with me, and is just generally awesome, thank you. This project wouldn’t have been nearly as fun without your contributions. Thank you!

2 responses

  1. I can’t believe you managed to get all but one done! That’s so amazingly awesome! AND 45LBS?! Superb!!!!!

  2. Its been a joy reading about your successes,Ill miss the well written pieces,congrats

Leave a Reply

