#4 Design a Knitting Pattern

Obviously something crafty needed to make the list! I was going to originally make this “Learn a new craft” but after a not so successful foray into embroidery, I thought that maybe taking my knitting a step further would be a good idea. I have a tendency to only learn the bare minimum to get by in an activity. Even though I’ve been knitting for almost seven years, I have yet to knit with two strands of yarn, finish making socks or a sweater, and design a pattern. I only learned cables about a year ago. It’s time I turned this knitting thing up to 11.

Once I discovered houndstooth, I went a little crazy with love for the pattern, but my lack of ability to knit with more than one type of yarn and complete complicated patterns made this process a little difficult. So, I chose to design a cowl that would reveal a houndstooth pattern through alternating knitting and purl stitches.

Honestly, I have yet to even knit my own pattern yet, but I’m pretty sure this is going to work!

Houndstooth Cowl

Yarn: 1 skein Malabrigo Worsted 3.5 oz, 216 yards

Needle: 16” circular – size 9US (5.5mm)

Notions: 1 stitch marker; blunt darning needle

Gauge: 18 sts and 28 rows = 4” (10cm) in pattern stitch

Size: One size = 22” around x 10” high

Instructions:

CO 100 stitches, Join in the round.

Row 1-4: Knit

BEGIN HOUNDSTOOTH PATTERN

Row 5: [K3, P1] to end

Row 6: [K1, P3] to end

Row 7: P1 [K1, P3] x24, P1, K2

Row 8: P2, [P1, K3]x24, K1, P1

REPEAT UNTIL COWL REACHES DESIRED LENGTH

Row 1-4: Knit

BO

//

If you end up knitting this, let me know how it comes out! I have quite a few projects ahead of this one – even if it is my yarn baby.

Leave a Reply

